Can Cops Do Anything Right?

Fuck the police. Right? Anyway, so for once I was thinking of a good thing they do. To be perfectly clear, I’m speaking to state troopers on the highway. My friend was telling me about getting a ride (instead of a seven mile walk to the closest gas station) from a state trooper. That made me remember a time when I got helped out by them.

They aren’t local police forces. They do give lots of tickets and they’re probably terrible in other ways, but it’s worth noting what they do right. In fact, I would argue that focusing on a more humanitarian route would make cops a much better institutional force. Like…what if cops helped people? Served the people? So that’s what I’d like to highlight, that a small glimmer of hope.

Leave a Reply

