Reforming the data-driven justice system

Optimism is a crutch for those who can’t handle the crushing weight of reality. And by that I mean, I really hope some good comes of this.

mathbabe

This article from the New York Times really interests me. It’s entitled Unlikely Cause Unites the Left and the Right: Justice Reformand although it doesn’t specifically mention “data driven” approaches in justice reform, it describes “emerging proposals to reduce prison populations, overhaul sentencing, reduce recidivism and take on similar initiatives.”

I think this sentence, especially the reference to reducing recidivism, is code for the evidence-based sentencing that my friend Luis Daniel recently posted about. I recently finished a draft chapter in my book about such “big data” models, and after much research I can assure you that this stuff runs the gamut between putting poor people away for longer because they’re poor and actually focusing resources where they’re needed.

The idea that there’s a coalition that’s taking this on that includes both Koch Industries and the ACLU is fascinating and bizarre and – if I may exhibit a rare…

View original post 69 more words

Leave a Reply

